Swag Bag, Door Prizes, Career Prep & More!

Written by: Sabrina Douglas
Experiential Education Intern
Social Psychology ’15

Soc Sci students! If you haven’t already heard, the Career Countdown Conference is happening on February 6! The EE Team has been hard at work planning an awesome full-day conference for you with interactive and informative breakout sessions, an amazing swag bag, a ton of door prizes, food, and a fantastic keynote speaker. Working behind the scenes in the EE office this year, I can tell you firsthand that you do not want to miss this!

DSC_4050
As a former student who attended the Career Countdown Conference last year, I know personally the great value that it holds for students and how much it can help prepare you for what comes next after graduation.

In my case,the conference was an eye-opening experience – I learned how to job search effectively, how to access the hidden job market, as well as the importance of making your social media profile professional. I also had my resume critiqued, got a professional photo taken for my LinkedIn profile, met some new people, and listened to a riveting talk on the art of powerful conversation. I left the conference that day confident in my Social Sciences degree and motivated to begin my job search (and with a snazzy swag bag and door prize!).

When I was hired on as the EE Intern, one of the events I was most looking forward to assisting with was the Career Countdown Conference. Attending the previous year as a student and knowing how much I enjoyed it, I was eager to help plan and organize the conference this year. We have been hard at work planning and organizing, and let me tell you – you will not be disappointed! We have been connecting with various community organizations over the last few months to make sure that our swag bags are packed with awesome giveaways, and to ensure that we provide you with a great list of potential employers who want to hire our Social Sciences grads (YOU!).

We have found wonderful, passionate speakers to talk to you about successful networking, effective job searching, powerful resumes, cover letters, social media, and interviews. With a ton of door prizes, an awesome swag bag, food, a professional photoshoot, 10 minute resume critiques, valuable sessions, and a keynote speaker discussing how to leverage your personal brand, there is no reason for you not to come out and spend the day preparing yourself for life post grad!

You might be graduating this year and gone in a few months – you have to take advantage of these opportunities now before it’s too late. As a recent grad, I can honestly tell you that it is SO important for you to be ready, prepared, and motivated to begin your career.

Check out our website for registration details and more information about the Career Countdown Conference.

I look forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

