Happy Summer…and Welcome to the New Blog!

Written by: Clarissa Huffman
Sociology Level III
Anthropology ’14

Hey everyone!!

Sorry I’ve been absent for so long, I promise I haven’t forgotten about you all!! 😛

In my opinion, summer is when exciting things happen. Most of my most significant memories from my university years are remembered by summer, rather than by what ‘year’ of my program I was in. This summer is no different. Summer gives you the chance to refresh, regroup, and make some serious goals for your upcoming year of school. If you start planning early, you might realise you need to enrol in a summer term class or two, and you might even start applying for fall internships through EE!!

Me, I’m over in a little town called Bradford, England completing an opportunity of a lifetime internship at a little family firm called The Mineral Planning group. It’s amazing how much you can learn when you spend your days in a small office with four people. No coffee runs for this intern!! While my internship was self-guided, I know that EE strives for the same goals – they want to secure student internships that are meaningful and educational, with the hopes that if you don’t know where you want to go with your career, maybe an internship through EE will help you figure it out.

Summer is also a time of transition. Take this blog, for example. I’ve had so much fun piloting this blog this year, and I hope that all of you have had just as much fun reading my thoughts. This summer, we will be expanding the blog and moving on to bigger and better things!! You’ll still get to read all of my thoughts and opinions about how students can make their time at McMaster more worthwhile, but there is one tiny difference. We want to hear from YOU!!

If you have an opinion or an experience that you’d like to share, please contact EE and discuss the possibility of having your piece shared on our blog. It’s a lot of fun and a great way to get exposure writing on a public forum – the blog gets sent out in the weekly newsletter that ends up in all of your inboxes!!

If writing a piece for the blog isn’t your thing, please make sure you follow us at our new URL so that you don’t miss a thing:

https://eebeyondthebooks.wordpress.com/

But hey, I didn’t think a blog would be my thing until I tried it, and it is so much fun. So maybe writing a piece for us will be a chance for you to try something new!! Either way, have an amazing summer!! See you in the fall!!

